The “Visions of SuAnne” Foundation, in coordination with the South Dakota High School Basketball Coaches’ Association (SDHSCA) and South Dakota High School Activities Association (SDHSAA), has announced the 2020 recipients of the “Spirit of Su” award.

They are:

• AA Boys – Cooper Cornemann, Yankton High School.

• AA Girls – Emma Osmundson, Sioux Falls Lincoln High School.

• A Boys – Maxwell Nielson, Sioux Valley High School.

• A Girls – Morgan Hammerbeck, Winner High School.

• B Boys – Nicholas Sayler, White River High School.

• B Girls – Sydnie Schauer, Faith High School.

The award has been bestowed each year since 1994, following SuAnne’s death in an automobile accident on her way to attend the Miss Basketball Banquet following her senior year. The award recognizes excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and community service among seniors playing at each of the state basketball tournaments. Quilts awarded to each honoree include colors and symbolism of all races of people, living together in beautiful harmony, as was SuAnne’s dream. The quilts and awards were presented inperson earlier today to each of the six recipients.