Union County continued its growth over the last 10 years but remained the 13th largest county in South Dakota with a population of 16,811.

Dakota Dunes grew to 4,020. North Sioux City saw a 20.2 percent increase and surpassed the 3,000 mark for the first time with 3,042.

The two communities’ combined population of 7,062 surpasses Madison 6,191, Harrisburg 6,732 and Tea 6,598. These are city populations, not school district populations.

Elk Point grew 9.5 percent with 2,149 residents. Beresford reached 2,180 up 8.7 percent. Part of Beresford is in Lincoln County. Alcester grew 6.8 percent with 820 people. Jefferson saw a 13.2 percent decline to 475.

In neighboring Clay County, Vermillion grew 10.8 percent to 11,695.

Sioux Falls grew 25.1 percent to 192,517 with residents in both Minnehaha and Lincoln counties.

Rapid City grew 9.9 percent to 74,203 with adjacent Rapid Valley another 8,080.

Minnehaha County remains the largest county, growing from 169,468 to 197,214. Pennington County was second with 109,222. Lincoln County grew from 44,828 to 65,811.

Hughes County is just ahead of Union County and Clay County just behind.

More rural cities and counties had decreases. For example, the population of Wessington Springs dropped 19.4 percent to 721. Others like Milbank were up 5.75 percent to 3,544.

The least populated county is Jones County at 917. Murdo, its county seat, is the hometown of U.S. Senator John Thune. The Senator has, for a number of years, resided in Sioux Falls.

Overall, South Dakota grew 72,487 to 886,667. The state has grown nearly 200,000 since 1990 with the majority in the three largest counties. The state continues to trend more urban than rural.

Woodbury County is now at 105,940, ranking it sixth in the state of Iowa. Johnson County (Iowa City) grew by 16.8 percent, from 130,882 to 152,854.

Close behind Woodbury are Dallas County (west of Des Moines), Dubuque and Story (Ames).

The United States grew to 331,449,281 up 7.4 percent.