Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 17 South Dakota counties as primary natural disaster areas, including Clay, Turner, Lincoln and Union. Producers who suffered losses due to excessive moisture and flooding that occurred since March 13, 2019, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

See full story in this week’s Leader-Courier.