Due to lack of petitions filed for Kevin Hoffman’s open board position, the Dakota Valley School Board looked at three interested parties for a one-year position on the board at their meeting May 11. Andrew Nilges, Jessica Hamm and Hoffman were considered for the position. The board appointed Hoffman to the term due to his experience and the current situation with COVID-19.

“I’d just like to make the comment that everyone was overly qualified for the position,” board member James Heeren said.

Board member Jeff Dooley agreed and thanked Hamm and Nilges for applying for the position.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jerry Rasmussen presented the preliminary budget. He stated that they’re operating under a zero percent increase from the state which would leave them with $30,000 less than this year’s budget. All numbers are preliminary and the budget doesn’t have to be approved until September.

Rasmussen said the state of South Dakota is receiving $41,295,000 through the Elementary and Secondary Schools Emergency Relief Fund. Of that amount, Dakota Valley will receive $79,409. This amount is based on the school’s Title 1 population.

Administrative Reports

Upper Elementary/Middle School Principal Amy Brandriet recognized the students who were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society for the 2019-20 school year. These include Maxwell Boelter, Michael Bourne, Luke Bruns, Abigail Burhoop, Tyler Cornelsen, Addison Dickson, William Freebern, Madelyn Hamm, Aidan Hamm, Nicholas Hanson, Aurora Happe, Brennyn Jensen, Chance Johnston, Brayden Karkalik, James Kilcullen, Addison Kleis, Valerie Norby, Owen Oberg, Camden Pawlick, Sophia Redler, Ella Schmiedt, Aubrey Schroeder, Jacee Squier and David Thieman.

See full story in this week’s Dakota Dunes / North Sioux City Times.