Award-winning Elk Point-Jefferson marching band

Members of the award-winning Elk Point-Jefferson marching band are, front from left, Matthew Norby, Nicole Wells, Noah Larson, Ella LaFerrier, Thomas Hemmingstad, Jillyan VandeVegte and Ella Hayes; second row, Joe Cross, Tessa McMahan, Alexis Ludwigs, Izzy Curry, Nora Kastning, Zoie Miller, Rosie Calamanco and Johnathan Kjose; third row, Tyler Lagge, Natalie Wells, Sophia Giorgio, Grace Schuh, Teagan Mollet, Caleb Niles, Claire LaFerrier, Bailey Berghult, Emily Langle and Carly Welch; fourth row, band director Aaron Schmeling, Addison Butler, Gunnar Albertsen, Jacob Peirce, Lucas Hemmingstad, Patrick Kastning, Ethan Brown, Carter Langle, Alicen Colt, Victoria Havermann and Jordan Swanson. Avery Norris, Paetyn Cole and Aubrey Bousquet were not present for the photo.

The Elk Point-Jefferson marching band has completed another successful season that saw them bring home big wins for both the band and drumline.

They marched in the Menno Band Competition Oct. 8 and were named the best of seven bands in Class B. The drum line also won the class and was second overall only to Tea Area.

The next day was the March to the Meridian in Yankton, where they duplicated their win at Menno in Class B and were second overall to Worthington, MN.

Hobo Day parade was up next, where they won first place in Class A with the top score overall. They also won Best Drum Line and Nora Kasting won Best Drum Major.

Many of the band members are now gearing up for Jazz Band competitions and Pep Band during wrestling and basketball games.