The first Union County Board of County Commissioners meeting of 2022 was held Tuesday, Jan. 4 to determine various appointments to the county, including chairman and vice-chairman.

Milton Ustad was nominated to remain the county chairman and Rich Headid will continue as vice-chairman.

The depositories for Union County are First Dakota National Bank, Liberty National Bank, Premier Bank, First Savings Bank, 1st Financial Bank USA, Central Bank, Security National Bank, Pioneer Bank and SD Public Fund Investment.

Legal newspapers for the county are the Southern Union County Leader-Courier, Dakota Dunes/North Sioux City Times, Alcester Union & Hudsonite and Beresford Republic.

Members of the sick leave bank committee are Kevin Joffer (commissioner), Tracy Smith (Sheriff), Cristy Harkness (Highway) and Scott Sexton (courthouse).

The following appointments were made: Union County Treasurer Myron Hertel as the County Investment Officer; commissioners Ustad and Mike Dailey as commissioner representatives to SECOG; Joffer and Dailey as representatives on the fair board; commissioners Tom Kimmel and Headid and Zoning Director Dennis Henze as the American Disabilities Act Coordinators; Headid and Kimmel as representatives to the South Dakota Housing Authority; and Joffer and Headid to the Juvenile Detention Authority.

See full story in this week’s Leader-Courier.