The South Dakota primary election will be held next Tuesday, June 2 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. To vote you must have been registered by May 18. Polling places were published in legal notices in the past two issues of this publication.

Mail-in ballots must be in the Union County Auditor’s office by 3 p.m. June 2.

There are three races on the Republican ballot, U.S. Senate, U.S. House and State House District 16. On the ticket there is a Presidential primary although one of the candidates has dropped out of the race and endorsed the other.

U.S. Senator Mike Rounds faces primary opposition from state house member Scyller Borglum.

U.S. House member Dusty Johnson faces primary opposition from former state representative Liz May. There is no Democratic candidates so the winner of the primary will be South Dakota’s primaries.

District 17 has three candidates competing for two seats. Incumbents are David Anderson and Kevin Jensen. The other candidate is Bill Shorma. There are no Democratic candidates in the general election so the top two vote-getters will be elected.


Primary election results will be posted on our website,, because our print deadline is before polls close.