2021 Community of the Year award

Jon Winkel, Mayor of Sergeant Bluff, left, and Michelle Bostinelos, far right, SIMPCO Executive Director presenting North Sioux City and Dakota Dunes CID with the 2021 Community of the Year award. The award was accepted by, second to left, Andrew Nilges, Executive Director of the North Sioux City Economic Development Corporation, Jeff Dooley, District Manager with the Dakota Dunes CID, Eric Christensen, City Administrator for North Sioux City, Patti Teel, Mayor of North Sioux City, and Gary Bogenrief, City of North Sioux City Council Member.

Each year the Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO) presents an award to a community that successfully promotes and implements community and economic development activities. Nominated by the SIMPCO staff, recipients of this award demonstrate great strides in community development, economic development, quality of life and/or housing projects. The Community of the Year is supported not only by its staff, but also the elected officials and members of the public. SIMPCO held its annual awards ceremony Dec. 9.

Dakota Dunes and North Sioux City are both recipients of the 2021 Community of the Year award because of their successful disaster recovery, transportation planning, community planning and economic development. Despite devastating flooding in the past decade, Dakota Dunes continues to grow and prosper – including the addition of housing and business, and improvements to the transportation system. North Sioux City was recently named the Small Community of the Year by the State of South Dakota, and recently announced plans for the expansion of Graham Field. SIMPCO has worked with the communities on a long-range transportation plan, Streeter Drive Improvements and trail connections.

The staff from Dakota Dunes and North Sioux City, along with the Dakota Dunes Board of Supervisors and North Sioux City City Council are recognized for their hard work.