The South Dakota House of Representatives’ failure to pass Senate Bill 191 March 30 tied the Union County Commissioners in dealing with last weekend’s racetrack events.

The legislature voted on a number of bills concerning COVID-19 on what, historically, is known as veto day. The bills all had emergency provisions that required a two-thirds majority vote.

The Senate passed the bill 30-5 with District 16 Senator Jim Bolin and District 17 Senator Art Rusch both voting yes. The Senate added wording beyond counties to clarify language for municipalities.

The House voted 37 yes, 29 nays and four excused. Forty-seven votes were needed to pass with the emergency provision. That provision would have made it a law immediately following the Governor’s signature rather than waiting until July 1.

District 16 Representatives David Anderson and Kevin Jensen both voted yes, as did District 17 Representatives Ray Ring and Nancy Rasmussen.

Half the opposition came from Sioux Falls metro area (nine) and Rapid City (five). Two house members each from Aberdeen, Watertown and Volga, also opposed it.

See full story in this week’s Dakota Dunes / North Sioux City Times and Leader-Courier.