Purple Heart City

North Sioux City was declared a Purple Heart City. Pictured are, from left, Regional Commander of Military Order of the Purple Heart (MOPH) Ken Teunissen, Union County Commissioner Rich Headid, North Sioux City Mayor Patti Teel, Tom Jacobs and Buck Underwood with the MOPH.

Union County, Beresford, Elk Point and North Sioux City were all declared Purple Heart County and Cities by the Military Order of the Purple Heart. In South Dakota, there are seven cities and five counties that are Purple Heart communities.

This designation will record Union County and the three cities on the Purple Heart Trail, which is a network of roads, bridges, highways and other monuments and trails honoring service members who have received the Purple Heart.