Morningside College

Fifty-five students graduated with bachelor’s degrees and 23 graduated with Master of Arts in Teaching degrees in December 2019. Graduates include Andrew White of Jefferson, who graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree.

Iowa State University

Over 1,000 students have been recognized for outstanding academic achievement by being named to the fall semester 2019 Dean’s List. Students named to the list must have earned a GPA of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale while carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours of graded course work.

Elk Point: Tania Danielly Nuno, Psychology

Dakota State University

A total of 563 full-time and 169 part-time students qualified for the President’s Academic Honors.

The following part-time students achieved a GPA of 3.5 to 4.0 to qualify for the honors list:

Jefferson: Schuyler Walchek

South Dakota School of Mines & Technology

For the fall 2019 semester, 616 students were named to the Dean’s List.

In order to merit a spot on the Dean’s List, students must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher for the semester. Full-time students must have earned a minimum of 12 credit hours for the term, while part-time students must have earned between three and 11 credit hours that term.

Elk Point: Justin Broekemeier and Dylan Colt

University of Iowa

More than 6,100 undergraduate students were named to the Dean’s List for the 2019 fall semester.

Guidelines for inclusion on the list are:

• Undergraduate students in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who achieve a GPA of 3.50 or higher on 12 semester hours or more of UI graded coursework during a given semester or summer session and who have no semester hours of “I” (incomplete) or “O” (no grade reported) during the same semester are recognized by inclusion on the dean’s list for that semester.

The following students were named to the list: Jared Hueser of Elk Point – Major: Human Physiology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

University of South Dakota

More than 2,300 students were honored for their high achievement during the Fall 2019 semester with the release of the Dean’s List and Academic Honors.

Full-time, undergraduate students are named to the Dean’s List if they received a 3.5 GPA for courses they took in the Fall 2019 semester, and they had no incomplete or failing grades. For part-time students, those with fewer than 12 credit hours, the recognition is called Academic Honors.

Dean’s List:

Elk Point: Meghan Lea Brewer, Emma Lee Hayes, Kayla Marie Hayl, Emily Lorraine Mickelson, Amanda Olivia Miller, Ally Jo Nearman, Cassidy Jo Nilson, Daniel Jacob Petra, Jacob Dennis Reed, Peyton Jennifer Swanson and Bradie Jae Timmins;

Jefferson: Baylie Jolaine Andersen, Kylie Nicole Christiansen, Sadie Noelle Green, Sydney Rae Payne, Kolten Stephen Radtke, Jessica Rose Riley and Jessie Rae Ripperda.

Academic Honors:

Jefferson: Jamie Donahoe Ripperda.

Mitchell Technical Institute

A total of 313 students were placed on the Fall Semester 2019 President’s List. To be named to the list, students must earn a term GPA of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and complete at least 12 credit hours of academic work during the semester.

Included on the Fall 2019 President’s List are: Cecil Gylfe and Breanna Hutcheson of Elk Point and Garret Chicoine of Jefferson.

Northwestern College

Nicole Koertner* and Rachel Koertner* have earned a spot on the Academic Dean’s List for the fall 2019 semester.

The Dean’s List is comprised of students who have achieved a semester GPA of 3.50 or above while carrying a minimum of 12 graded hours. This semester, 428 students qualified for the Dean’s List. Students who earned a GPA of 3.75 or higher are considered Collegiate Scholars, designated with an asterisk.

Nicole Koertner is a senior elementary education major at Northwestern College. Rachel Koertner is a senior public relations major at Northwestern. They are the daughters of Terry and Susan Koertner of Jefferson.

South Dakota State University

The following students have been named to the dean’s list for academic excellence after the fall 2019 semester. To earn dean’s list distinctions in SDSU’s colleges, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 GPA. Students with an asterisk received a perfect 4.0 GPA.

School Codes: SAFES – College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences; SAHSS – College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; SEHS – College of Education and Human Sciences; SENGR – Jerome J. Lohr College of Engineering; SNS – College of Natural Sciences; SNURS – College of Nursing; and SPAHP – College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions.

Elk Point: Kylee Anne Donnelly – SAHSS, Aubrie Kaye Franken – SNS, Rachel Elizabeth Geary* – SAFES, Cody Hunter Kneip – SAFES, Samantha Rose McInerney – SAFES; Emily Marie Peirce* – SAHSS and Jordan Sidney Von Seggern – SENGR; and

Jefferson: Mykaylan Diane Rose Burner* – SAHSS, Nichole Ann Dial – SNS and Madalyne Jo Schuldt – SPAHP.

College notes are compiled from information the Leader-Courier receives directly from colleges and universities.